Hungry Hannah: Cinnamon Sugar Pretzels

So I first made these when I was staying in Canada and put on about 2 stone in weight from my mass bakeathons and general gorging on anything I could find…this was my first taste of western food in months! The pretzels went down a treat even considering I had to deal with confusing all-purpose flour and weighing everything in cups (which isn’t the thing we drink our tea out of guys) so I thought I would try them again but with a few tweaks to see if I could perfect them.

12746242_10153666219324597_572416228_n

Ingredients

180ml of warm water

1.5 tsp of yeast

½ tbsp. of caster sugar

½ tbsp of salt

325g plain flour

Sugar Topping

20g of butter

3 tbsp of caster sugar

1tsp of cinnamon

Cook at 200 degrees for 15 minutes

Method

(Preheat Oven to 200 degrees)

  • First thing to do is to get your warm water and dissolve your yeast in it – stirring thoroughly.
  • Next you add the sugar and salt to the mixture and stir until everything is dissolved.
  • In a separate bowl pour in your flour and then add the yeast mixture to it.
  • Mix the mixture together with your hands until it’s comes together and once the dough bounces back its ready to knead. (TOP TIP: Make sure your water is warm…mine was too hot and it was like moulding lava together!)
  • Knead the mixture for 10 minutes (TOP TIP: make sure someone else is always in the house to tag team the kneading process…it’s a Sunday no one needs a work out today) then place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with cling film.
  • Leave for 45 minutes or until the mixture has doubled in size. (TOP TIP: I placed my bowl under the grill so the warmth from the oven could help…it got slightly bigger but then I removed it as the bowl was getting a bit too hot…my dough didn’t double in size but did get slightly bigger)
  • Now make the cinnamon sugar in a separate bowl. Combine the sugar and cinnamon and mix.
  • Then you need to take the dough out and  separate it into 8 separate parts.
  • Then roll each ball into a long tube, the size is up to you mine varied but I think the bigger and fatter are better so the mixture may make less than 8…then make them  into a pretzel shape. (TOP TIP: Google pretzel shape before shaping.running to turn my laptop on to check was an extra 10 minutes wasted)
  • Once all are your pretzels are shaped cover the tray with cling film and leave for an additional 15 minutes. (TOP TIP: mine didn’t change in size so I left it only 10 minutes…this part I think is for you to judge if needed)
  • Then place them in a preheated oven to cook for 10 minutes.
  • Take out the oven and brush each pretzel with melted butter and sprinkle with the cinnamon sugar mixture – put back in for around 5 minutes or until they start to brown.
  • Once out leave to cool slightly but I recommend eating them when they hot as this is when they taste the best. (TOP TIP: Cold pretzels aren’t as nice and mine did sweat and go stale overnight as fatty baked too many….so remember eat them while their piping!)

12677667_1675965659358045_581061771_n(1) 12725155_841304382658600_50418168_n

Let me know how yours go if you fancy testing these bad boys out 🙂

Leave a Reply

