Hungry Hannah: Coffee & Walnut Cake

Now I’m not the most skilled baker who has all the fancy electric mixers and piping bags so please bear in mind my bakes are always going to look a bit rustic shall we say…

If I’m honest writing a post about baking is a lot more effort than actually doing the baking itself. Having gathered my ingredients I then had to take a picture of them for this post…now I’m not the most photographically skilled person either so be mindful of this when looking at my pictures…

12751816_10153653171344597_1981756000_o

So picture taken next thing was to weigh out the ingredients and put the in the bowl…but before I mixed it together I had to make sure all items were visible and looked OK in the bowl…high drama I tell you!

12699056_10153653171129597_1541285208_o

First issue I had was the coffee…I mixed the granules with boiling water but it went lumpy so had to do a second attempt which luckily turned out ok.

Right next I had to mix ingredients into a smooth batter….a bit of problem as I didn’t get the butter out so it was rock hard and my house is an ice box so it wasn’t likely to start softening any time soon.

I gave it 5 minutes and then I realised I needed back up…MUM!!!

Mother came down and got to work…

I decided to chop the walnuts as I didn’t want it to look like I was being lazy….the recipe didn’t say how big or how small I should chop them so I compromised on medium sized chunks.

12751921_10153653171079597_1308188608_o

Now Mother had been mixing for around 10 minutes and didn’t look too impressed at me chanting her on…so we decide d to f**k it and added the walnuts to the lumpy mixture and poured it into two separate tins….our reasoning was the butter would eventually melt when cooked in the oven anyways.

12751939_10153653171034597_1410394491_o

Ding! Times up…cakes came out and were looking really good….the next steps were easy…quickly make some coffee flavoured butter cream and let the cakes cool down.

Once cooled I spread some butter cream on the first cake and put the next cake on top of it then cover that one with the remaining butter cream. Finally I decorated it with some whole walnuts we saved from the chopping board.

12751827_10153653170934597_2122152780_o

Verdict on cake…YUMMY!!! Only downside was the walnut chunks were a little too big…but we can’t get everything right can we…

Cake Ingredients

1 tbsp Coffee Granules

1 tbsp of Boiling Water

175g (6oz) Unsalted Butter

175g (6oz) Golden Caster Sugar

3 Eggs

175g (6oz) Self-Raising Flour

1 tsp Baking Powder

50g (2oz) Chopped Walnuts

Coffee Butter Cream Ingredients

1 tsp Coffee Granules

2 tsp Boiling Water

100g (3 ½ oz) Unsalted Butter

150g (5oz) Icing Sugar

Instructions

Dissolve the coffee granules in the water and then in a separate bowl beat together the eggs,flour,butter, sugar and baking powder until the mixture forms a smooth batter.

Then beat in the coffee and chopped walnuts and divide the mixture into two 7” sandwich tins.

Bake in preheated oven at 180 degrees for 25 minutes. Once cooled cool on a wire rack.

Butter Cream Instructions

Dissolve the coffee in water and then beat together the butter and icing sugar and coffee until smooth and creamy.

Once cake have cooled use half the mixture for the topping of one cake and then place the other cake on top and use the rest of the butter cream to cover the top. Finally decorate with some walnut halves.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hungry Hannah: Coffee & Walnut Cake

Leave a Reply

